USA Rugby to host Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 in San Diego

World’s top five ranked teams to compete in two-week round-robin competition
  • USA Rugby to host Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 in San Diego June 28 to July 14
  • Competition features world’s top five ranked women’s teams in a round-robin tournament
  • New Zealand, England, France, Canada and USA to compete across five competition dates
  • Canada are reigning champions with England two-time runners up
  • Fans can sign up for USA Rugby’s presale ticket list here
  • Matches will be broadcast LIVE on

SAN DIEGO, CA. – USA Rugby will host the Women’s Rugby Super Series from June 28 to July 14, bringing together the world’s top five teams for a round-robin tournament spanning five competition dates in the greater San Diego area.

Kicking off for the first time in three years and increasing from four to five teams, the Super Series will feature No. 1 New Zealand, No. 2 England, No. 3 Canada, No.4 France, and No. 5 United States. The tournament was last hosted by the United States in 2016 where Canada won the title and England claimed runner-up for the second consecutive cycle.

Hosted in partnership with World Rugby, the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 serves as a meaningful step in generating more exposure for the larger women’s game and providing athletes with much-needed playing time. With teams all playing each other once, the event will bring a total of ten international test matches to a growing population of rugby fans in Southern California.

Overall, two games will be played per day on June 28, July 2, July 6, July 10 and July 14 allowing both teams and fans multiple opportunities to experience high-level competition. Each team will use one match date as a bye with the first four rounds taking place at the Elite Athlete Training Center — also the training site for the USA Women’s and Men’s Sevens teams — and the final round on July 14 happening at Torero Stadium.

USA Rugby General Manager of Women’s High Performance, Emilie Bydwell said: “We are very excited about the opportunity to host the return of the Women’s Super Series. The timing of the event, duration, number of games and quality of competition aligns with our goals for the Women’s National Team. Further, World Rugby’s support and investment in this competition speaks volumes of their commitment to improving high performance competition structures and quality of the top-end product of the Women’s Game. This will arguably be one of the biggest events in women’s rugby in 2019 and having USA as the host will generate a positive impact for our program, players and community.”

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “As part of the women’s strategic plan, accelerating the global development of women in rugby, one of the key strands is to increase competitiveness of international rugby across the women’s game. As part of the plan, World Rugby’s high performance program is committed to providing targeted investment and support in order to achieve this long-term objective.

“The Women’s Rugby Super Series is a fantastic competition that offers more quality playing opportunities and is set to be a thrilling tournament, where we look forward to the top five women’s international 15s teams compete for the Super Series title this summer.”

Match timings and ticket information for the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 will be announced in due course. In the meantime, fans can sign up to be included in USA Rugby’s event presale list here. All matches will be broadcast LIVE on

Sign Up for Presale Ticket List 

Watch the Super Series Live on FloRugby 

Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 Schedule

Friday, June 28

Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • Canada vs New Zealand
  • England vs USA
  • France on bye

Tuesday, July 2

Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • France vs Canada
  • New Zealand vs USA
  • England on Bye

Saturday, July 6

Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • France vs New Zealand
  • Canada vs England
  • USA on bye

Wednesday, July 10

Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • England vs France
  • Canada vs USA
  • New Zealand on bye

Sunday, July 14

University of San Diego’s Torero Stadium

  • France vs USA
  • New Zealand vs England
  • Canada on Bye


About the Women’s Rugby Super Series

The Women’s Rugby Super Series is an international competition which features the world’s top-ranked national rugby teams in the 15-a-side version of the sport. Held in a round-robin format, the tournament was first introduced in 2015 in Canada where New Zealand claimed the inaugural title and England came runners-up. For the first time since its inception, the Women’s Super Series will increase from four to five participating teams in 2019 with the last iteration held in 2016 in the USA. The competition aims to provide players with highly competitive test matches to boost playing time and increase exposure for women’s rugby in the world. Matches contested in the Women’s Rugby Super Series count towards world rankings.

Points Structure

Win – 4 points
Draw – 2 points
Loss – 0 points

BonusScoring 4 tries – 1 point
Losing by less than 7 – 1 point