Women’s Sevens Summer Olympic Schedule Announced


World Rugby has today announced the schedule for rugby sevens at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games. Both the Men’s and Women’s competition will take place at the Deodoro Stadium starting Saturday, August 6 and finishing on Thursday, August 11.

How it Works
All 12 teams are broken into three, four-team pools. The top two finishers from each pool move on to the quarterfinals (seeding determined by pool standings). The two best third place finishers from the pool stages will also move on to the quarterfinals.

The quarterfinals begin the knockout round, where a loss will dash a team’s hopes of competing for a medal. Quarterfinal winners will move on to the semifinals, which will ultimately decide the teams playing in the Gold and Bronze Medal matches. The loser of the Gold Medal match will win the Silver Medal.

Women’s Schedule
The Women will take the world’s stage first with the first two matches of pool play coming on Saturday, August 6. On Sunday, August 7, all nations will play their final pool match in the early afternoon before the quarterfinals kick off that evening.

Finally, on Monday, August 8, medals will be awarded. The semifinal matches will kick off at 1:30 pm and 2:00 pm ET that day with the Bronze and Gold Medal matches starting at 5:30 pm and 6:00 pm ET, respectively.

Women’s Competition

Note The order in which knockout matches take place may change subject to broadcast requirements.

Pool A Pool B Pool C
Australia (2-1-0 8pt) New Zealand (3-0-0 9pt) Great Britain (3-0-0 9pt)
Fiji (2-0-1 7pt) France (2-0-1 7pt) Canada (2-0-1 7pt)

Monday, August 8

Match No. Time (ET) Matchup Teams
25 11:30 am Place 11-12 Colombia 10 - 22 Kenya
26 12:00 pm Place 9-10 Brazil 33 - 5 Japan
27 12:30 pm Place 5-8 Spain v. France
28 1:00 pm Place 5-8 Fiji v. USA
29 1:30 pm Semifinal 1 Australia v. Canada
30 2:00 pm Semifinal 2 Great Britain v. New Zealand
31 4:30 pm Place 7-8 Spain 21 - 0 Fiji
32 5:00 pm Place 5-6 France v. USA
33 5:30 pm Bronze Medal Canada v. Great Britain
34 6:00 pm Gold Medal Australia v. New Zealand

Final Standings

Rank Team
Bronze Canada
4 Great Britain
6 France
7 Spain
8 Fiji
9 Brazil
10 Japan
11 Kenya
12 Colombia