DI-AA Playoffs begin the road to Stanford


BOULDER, Colo. – The 2014 USA Rugby Emirates Airline Men’s Collegiate Division I-AA Playoffs kick off April 26 in the form of four regional playoffs determining the Semifinalists set to compete for the National Championship. Regionals will conclude the following day, April 27.

Eleven of the 16 teams competing in regionals did not qualify for 2013’s DI-AA playoffs. Central Florida, reigning DI-AA Champions, is once again in the playoff field in hopes of retaining its title.

Northeast Regional State College, Pa.
West Virginia vs. Princeton
Brown vs. University of San Diego

Southeast Regional Knoxville, Tenn.
Central Florida vs. Louisiana State
South Carolina vs. Georgia

Midwest Regional Bowling Green, Ohio
Bowling Green vs. Iowa State
Missouri vs. Middle Tennessee

West Regional Stanford, Calif.
Stanford vs. Oregon
Long Beach State vs. Arizona

The team that comes out of the Northeast Regional will take on the winner from the Southeast, while the West winner will face the top team from the Midwest Regional.

The DI-AA finals are a part of USA Rugby’s College National Championship Series at Stanford University. The DI-AA Semifinals will be played at Stanford’s Steuber Rugby Stadium on May 10, and the finals will be played on May 11 on the very same pitch.